Housestaff Council on Graduate Medical Education

The Housestaff Council was founded in July 2019 to represent Housestaff with regards to education, training, facilities and resources. The council works closely with the UF office of GME and GME Committee, UF School of Medicine and UF Health to promote the interests of the Housestaff at large. Furthermore, the council was created to serve as a forum for Housestaff to discuss concerns and appropriate funding for Gator Bites, social events and resident lounges (including food). Each training program with residents or fellows may have a representative on the Council. Housestaff are nominated in early July, after which elections are held among the Council to nominate the Executive Council.


The Executive Council for the 2019-2020 academic year is:

  • Co-Chairs:  Kirsten Freeman (CT surgery) and Sarah Gray (Surgery)
  • Vice Chair, Wellness: Kelsey Pan (Internal Medicine)
  • Vice Chair, Diversity: Hiro Miyagi (Urology)
  • Vice Chair, Budget/Finance: Ali Zarezadeh (Orthopaedics)
  • Vice Chair, Hospital Relations: Nikhil Shah (Cardiology)
  • At large representatives: Manuel Viamonte (Child Neurology) and Michael Damiano (Radiology)


Council meetings are held once a month and are open to all Housestaff.


The Council also releases a monthly newsletter, The Grumpy Gator.


Accomplishments of the 2019-2020 Housestaff Council include:

  • Establishing direct relationships to hospital and College of Medicine leadership to convey feedback from housestaff
  • Revamping Gator Bites based on housestaff feedback
  • Improving drink and snack options in the housestaff lounges throughout all 3 towers
  • Promoting and hosting housestaff wellness events
  • Creation of a hospital-wide consult handbook
  • Co-hosting diversity events with College of Medicine student groups